Sign In Forgot Password

Judaism 101

Upcoming Sessions

1. Monday, December 9, 2019 11 Kislev 5780

6:00 PM - 7:15 PMRm 106

2. Monday, January 13, 2020 16 Tevet 5780

6:00 PM - 7:15 PMRm 106

3. Monday, March 2, 2020 6 Adar 5780

6:00 PM - 7:15 PMRm 106

4. Monday, April 6, 2020 12 Nisan 5780

6:00 PM - 7:15 PMRm 106

5. Monday, May 4, 2020 10 Iyar 5780

6:00 PM - 7:15 PMRm 106

6. Monday, June 1, 2020 9 Sivan 5780

6:00 PM - 7:15 PMRm 106

7. Monday, July 6, 2020 14 Tammuz 5780

6:00 PM - 7:15 PMRm 106
Past Sessions
Monday, November 4, 2019 6 Cheshvan 5780 - 6:00 PM - 7:15 PM - Rm 106
Monday, October 7, 2019 8 Tishrei 5780 - 6:00 PM - 7:15 PM - Rm 106
Monday, September 9, 2019 9 Elul 5779 - 6:00 PM - 7:15 PM - Rm 106

This monthly course is for anyone who is new to Judaism or wants a refresher on Jewish holidays, rituals, and vocabulary. You'll get a crash course on the major holidays as they approach and learn about life-cycle events in the remaining sessions. The goal of this class is for all members of our community to feel comfortable and knowledgeable as they participate in Jewish life. No studying required. Classes are not cumulative; participants may attend one or all. Instructor: Kendra Sager

Each class will address these questions:

• What happened? (Origins and history)

• What are we talking about? (Key vocabulary)

• What do we do? (Rituals and objects)

• How do we participate? (Hosting and being a thoughtful guest)

• Can you repeat that? (Review game)

 

First or second Monday of the month, 6:00–7:15 pm:

September 9, 2019 – High Holy Days

October 7, 2019 – Simchat Torah and Sukkot

November 4, 2019 – B’nai mitzvah

December 9, 2019 – Hanukkah

January 13, 2020 – Death and mourning

February 3, 2020 – Tu Bishvat

March 2, 2020 – Purim

April 6, 2020 – Passover

May 4, 2020 – Shavuot

June 1, 2020 – Marriage

July 6, 2020 – Birth

 

Register

Share Print Save To My Calendar
November 21, 2019 23 Cheshvan 5780