Sign In Forgot Password

Talking About Race: Seven Guided Small-Group Conversations for Personal Growth

Upcoming Sessions

1. Tuesday, March 9, 2021 25 Adar 5781

7:00 PM - 8:30 PMZoom

2. Friday, March 12, 2021 28 Adar 5781

10:00 AM - 11:30 AMZoom

3. Tuesday, March 16, 2021 3 Nisan 5781

7:00 PM - 8:30 PMZoom

4. Friday, March 19, 2021 6 Nisan 5781

10:00 AM - 11:30 AMZoom

5. Tuesday, March 23, 2021 10 Nisan 5781

7:00 PM - 8:30 PMZoom

6. Friday, March 26, 2021 13 Nisan 5781

10:00 AM - 11:30 AMZoom
Past Sessions
Friday, March 5, 2021 21 Adar 5781 - 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM - Zoom
Tuesday, March 2, 2021 18 Adar 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Friday, February 26, 2021 14 Adar 5781 - 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM - Zoom
Tuesday, February 23, 2021 11 Adar 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Friday, February 19, 2021 7 Adar 5781 - 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM - Zoom
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 4 Adar 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Friday, February 12, 2021 30 Sh'vat 5781 - 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM - Zoom
Tuesday, February 9, 2021 27 Sh'vat 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom

Wherever you are on your racial justice journey, you can benefit from these conversations. Self-assessment and sharing in a safe setting will help you see the world with a racial lens, participate in challenging conversations, learn and grow, and over time be able to engage in conversations about race more effectively. 

These will be small-group discussions with the same group for all seven weeks. Before each group meeting, there will be 10–30 minutes of pre-work to do on your own that will be the foundation for the week's conversation. We will be using materials compiled by Sara Alvarado (SaraAlvarado.com). 

The seven conversations cover these topics: 

  1.  What is race? 
  2.  Identifying as white 
  3.  How is whiteness a privilege 
  4.  Racial representation matters 
  5.  Making assumptions, understanding stereotypes and biases 
  6.  The N-word 
  7.  Language, code-switching, and whiteness 

Space is limited, so register now. We'll start a waiting list for those interested once space fills up. A third session may also be added, so let us know if these times don't work for you. If you are registering more than one person from your household, each person should sign up separately. 

The Zoom link and pre-work for the first session will be sent to those registered for each group a week in advance of the first meeting. Please contact Aleeza Hoffert at engage@tbemadison.org with any questions.

Register

   Group 1: Tuesdays, February 9-March 23, 7:00-8:30 pm - Fully Booked
   Group 2: Thursdays, February 11-March 25, 10:30 am-12:00 pm - 1 of 6 LeftPlease register all participants who will be joining the group sessions from your screen.
Share Print Save To My Calendar
March 8, 2021 24 Adar 5781